Our Medical Experts

Sanjiv Patel

Sanjiv was appointed as a Consultant Anaesthetist at University College London Hospital in 2012.


As a doctor he has had the opportunity to see the huge difference play specialists have on the wellbeing of children who require medical care in and out of hospital.

In 2009 he was elected as one of the youngest ever board members of The Royal College of Anaesthetists. As a trustee on the board his main passion lay in developing and improving training and education for junior doctors, and over his 6 years on the board he lead on several instrumental improvement projects within this area.

Most recently Sanjiv has entered the Social Care Sector and is the CEO of Westgate Healthcare Group, delivering care services to the elderly across London and the home counties. He is passionate about healthcare and an advocate of engaging with and supporting specialist organisations such as Spread A Smile to help improve the delivery of care within the National Health Service and Social Care environments.


Dr Ray Ackwerh

Dr Ackwerh is a Consultant Anaesthetist at University College London NHS Trust.


Dr Ackwerh graduated from University College London Medical School in 2001. He then undertook his anaesthetic specialist training at the North Central School of Anaesthesia and was awarded the FRCA in 2007. In 2012, Dr Ackwerh completed his subspecialist training in Paediatric Anaesthesia following a Clinical Instructor post at CS Mott Children’s Hospital, Michigan, USA and a Clinical Fellowship at Great Ormond Street Hospital, UK.

Dr Ackwerh has a keen interest in medical education and is a member of the Academy of Medical Educators. He has tutor and mentor roles at UCL Medical School and is an Educational Supervisor at the North Central School of Anaesthesia.

Dr Ackwerh strongly believes in patient centred care and fully supports multidisciplinary team working. He has been the Anaesthetic Lead for Radiotherapy since 2015 and is a member of the Children’s Cancer & Leukaemia Group. His commitment to team-working, clinical excellence and high quality care was recognised when he was voted Anaesthetist of the Year at UCLH in 2017 & 2018.